skip to content

Degree Committee for the Faculty of Earth Sciences & Geography



The constitution of the Degree Committee specifies that its membership is derived from that of the Faculty Board, minus the student members, but with a separate Degree Committee Secretary, who deals with day-to-day business on behalf of the Degree Committee. The current members are:

Class (a) (5): Prof. Ulf Büntgen (Geography), Prof. Richard Harrison (Earth Sciences), Prof. Mike Hulme (Geography), Prof. Clive Oppenheimer (Geography), Prof. Sergei Lebedev (Earth Sciences).

Class (b) (2): Prof. Neil Arnold (Scott Polar), Prof. Helen Williams (Earth Sciences).

Class (c) (10) Prof Ian Farnan (Earth Sciences), Prof. Chris Sandbrook (Geography), Prof. Matthew Gandy, Prof. Alex Jeffrey (Geography), Prof Emma Mawdsley (Geography), Prof. Gareth Rees* (Scott Polar Research Institute), Prof. Nicholas Tosca (Earth Sciences), Prof. Oliver Shorttle (Earth Sciences), Dr David Wallis (Earth Sciences), Dr Owen Weller (Earth Sciences).

Ex officio : Director of Postgraduate Education of the Department of Geography (if not already a member) (Prof. Charlotte Lemanski), and the Secretary (Mrs Silvana Dean)

The Director of Postgraduate Studies of the Department of Earth Sciences is invited to attend as required



Meeting papers

Degree Committee Members may access papers for the next meeting at the Committee's Moodle course (Raven login needed).

If you can't find the page you are looking for or find a broken link do let us know (please use the email link in the 'Contact us' section below).

Office closures

No imminent office closures

Meeting dates

Meetings of the Degree Committee and Degree Ceremonies:

2023-24 Degree Committee dates:
19 September, 24 October, 21 November 2023.
16 January, 13 February, 12 March 2024.
23 April, 21 May, 11 June, 16 July, 17 September 2024.

2023-24 Degree Ceremonies:
20,21 October, 25 November 2023
26 January, 24 February, 23 March,
6 April, 27 April, 17,18 May, 18,19,20 July 2024.